Ambassadors of  Dance
Sherrall & Grant Macown NZ with Leigh & Bob Steele Australia

History of the ADT - Australaisian Dance Teachers
Society Of Australasian Teachers of Dancing in
New Zealand
SATD (NZ) Incorporated

While visiting Australia in March 1949 Jack and Valmai Guthrie met Mr Jack Keating, the then organising Secretary for the SATD in Australia.
During their stay Jack and Valmai attained Fellowship Degrees and on their return to New Zealand, founded SATD, New Zealand.

Since 1950, SATD (NZ) Inc. has sponsored over 40 Amateur couples to compete in International competitions.
This has sent Amatuer couples to every state in Australia as NZ representatives. SATD has also sponsored adjudicators to judge at prestigious International Competitions and sponsored local workshops and Dance Events.

A Fellow & Examiner and Founding Member, Miss Irene Oliver, Rotorua, was presented with the Queens Service Medal (QSM) for services to dance and the community by Queen Elizabeth II.
An Honorary Life Member, Ms Candy Lane, Auckland, was presented with the Queens Service Medal (QSM) by the Governor General for services to dance.

ADT continues to work to promote dancing and support Professionals in their careers. This not-for-profit organisation acknowledges the hard work of its original Board of Governors which included:
Jack & Valmai Guthrie
Irene Oliver QSM
Fay & Leon Harbottle
Da Katipa

New Zealand & International Champions, Grant & Sherrall Macown joined this illustrious group and together they produced and supported many Champion Dancers, Medallists, Professionals  and World Class Adjudicators

Currently ADT organises Professional Dance Teacher Examinations, Dancesport Competitions and  Dance Medal Examinations  in Ballroom, Latin American, New Vogue, Classical Sequence, Jazz and Theatre Dance styles. ADT is an active Member of the New Zealand Ballroom Dancing Council a Charitable Trust and the Governing Body for Ballroom, New Vogue, Latin American & Classical Sequence Competitions in New Zealand

The Current Board of Directors of the ADT are:
Zarlane Zeigler - President
Angela Gainsford - Secretary
Kingsley Gainsford - Vice President
Brian Jones - Examiner

Immediate Past BOD's - now Advisers
Anne Broadbridge - Waikato
Diane Wilcox - Waikato
Emily Broad - Canterbury

International Advisers -
Peter Smith, Woollongong, Australia
Wendy Johnson, New York, USA
Peter & Rachell Van der Veek, Gisse, Netherlands
Mathew Nicholson - Australia
Richard & Olya Peters - United Kingdom


  Site Map